Week one #sciwrite

On 30 October, Anne Jefferson (aka @highlyanne) of the geology blog Highly Allochthonous posted a writing challenge. She wanted to get some writing done and submitted for publication. This being November (the Official Month of Crazy Writing Challenges), she opened up the fun to any others who wanted to participate. The deadline is the first Sunday in December and most (but not all) participants are working on academic papers for publication. The Twitter hashtag is #sciwrite.

Although I graduated with my MLIS in May 2010, I have several papers from my coursework that I want to submit for publication. The #sciwrite challenge seemed like a good opportunity to toss aside procrastination and distraction and actually get something done on those papers. My goal for the first Sunday in December is to see two of my papers in review by then: either with one of the instructors for whose class I originally wrote them, or (if things go really well) a journal.

Paper one (henceforth to be known as P1) is about the information behavior of birders. I’ve already started revising and updating this paper, and I know what journal is my first choice for submission. Paper two (P2) is about the Flickr Commons project, and uses publicly available statistics in an attempt to quantify some interactions between Flickr members and the cultural institutions that participate in the Flickr Commons. I haven’t decided where to submit this one yet.

I set low goals for Week One because I was going to be away for the weekend. Even so, I didn’t complete Week One’s goal until today. Oops. Anyhow, P1 was not touched. My goal was to reread P2 and see how well it held up. I was pleasantly surprised. The prose is a little on the dull side, but that’s not a huge problem. I need to update the literature review. I should probably make the charts look a little better. Other than that, however, the analysis and discussion seem pretty clear and solid.

Week Two’s goals will be to check and expand the statistical analysis of P1, and to find and read potentially relevant papers for P2’s lit review. I’ll let you know how I did next Sunday.

Another goal of mine for this challenge, apart from revising my student papers, is to use the challenge to get back into a more regular blogging routine. Hence this post and the others that will follow.

If you are participating in any crazy writing challenge this month, good luck!

3 thoughts on “Week one #sciwrite

  1. Rick – Thanks! P1 was an interesting study to do, and I’ll let you know when it’s published (fingers crossed).Anne – Thanks! Thank you most especially for posing the #sciwrite challenge this month! It really helps to know that others are working on their projects at the same time you are (especially for someone who is not currently in an academic setting, like me).

Comments are closed.